Skip to content
All opportunities

Funding · Amazon Research Awards

Amazon Research Awards: Fall 2026

Submit a research proposal in Amazon’s Fall 2026 call, including agentic AI, AI evaluation and multimodal perception. Awards support institutional research; this is not an individual PhD opening.

Needs a fresh check

Eligible academic institutions and nonprofit research organizations

Application deadline: November 4, 2026; the call page does not clarify the cutoff time or time zone.

Grant amount not stated in this record.

This record is historical or needs another check. It is excluded from verified-open recommendations. Read the institution’s current source before applying.

Selected call topics

  • Agentic AI
  • AI evaluation
  • Multimodal perception
  • AI security
  • Automated reasoning
  • Trainium kernels

What the institution asks for

  • The principal investigator must be full-time faculty at an accredited institution or a permanent researcher at a qualifying nonprofit organization.
  • One proposal per principal investigator per call. Read the program rules for sanctions, employment conflicts and other exclusions.
  • Proposals must not contain confidential information; follow the chosen research area’s specific proposal instructions.
Funding terms
Competitive research funding paid to the institution as an unrestricted gift. Award amounts and any cloud credits depend on the selected call and panel decision.
Funding duration
Not stated
Eligibility
Eligible institutional principal investigators; not a direct student scholarship.

Further details

A preparation task from Prof Rod

What should I prepare before applying?

Start with a question worth investigating. Then read what the call actually asks you to submit. Let’s compare two closed AWS Agentic AI cycles before you draft.

What stayed the same?

  • Name the open-source tools you plan to contribute to and the AWS machine-learning tools you will use.
  • Use the proposal template. Budget expected costs in USD; the topic pages exclude administrative overhead.
  • Both topic pages point applicants to the program rules; they do not reproduce complete eligibility.

What changed?

  • The recommended proposal length grew from three to four pages, excluding appendices.
  • Spring 2026 explicitly asks what is innovative and how the research differs from or builds on existing work.
  • Spring 2026 adds agentic scientific discovery to the named focus areas. These examples describe two calls from one program, not a market-wide trend.

Draft a research question, a comparison with prior work, one open-source contribution and a resource budget. Ask an eligible principal investigator to check fit and institutional permissions before submitting.

These are institutional awards, not student scholarships. Current program rules require an eligible faculty member or permanent nonprofit researcher to serve as principal investigator. Check the complete exclusions and your institution’s rules.

Topic pages retrieved October 8, 2026. Both link to rules; this comparison does not establish that historical eligibility stayed unchanged. A past cycle cannot predict a future call.

Other recorded cycles

Compare topics across this organization’s calls. This archive alone does not describe the whole research market.

Keep it on your desk

Your free account saves this entry. Saving does not apply to the institution or subscribe you to alerts.

Sign in free to save this opportunity