Skip to content
All opportunities

Funding · Amazon Research Awards

Amazon Research Awards: Winter 2024 (closed)

Closed Winter 2024 research-proposal cycle. Explore its topics to prepare research questions for a future announced call.

Closed or historical

Historical institutional research funding

Application deadline: The submission period closed on March 6.

Grant amount not stated in this record.

This record is historical or needs another check. It is excluded from verified-open recommendations. Read the institution’s current source before applying.

Selected call topics

  • Foundation Model Development

What the institution asks for

  • This application period has closed; this entry is for research and preparation, not applying.
  • Past eligibility and award terms must be read from that cycle’s original documents. Current program rules do not establish historical eligibility.
Funding terms
Archived research-proposal cycle. Past award amounts and individual award terms are not reverified in this entry.
Funding duration
Not stated
Eligibility
Historical call; consult the original cycle, not today’s rules.

ProfRod’s suggested preparation

Understand what this work involves

Use the archived topics to develop a testable research question. A past call does not announce a future deadline or guarantee the same topics.

Prepare an evaluation plan

Write the question, baseline, sampling unit and evidence you would need. Compare this plan with the next official call when one is announced.

Continue the exercise

A preparation task from Prof Rod

What should I prepare before applying?

Start with a question worth investigating. Then read what the call actually asks you to submit. Let’s compare two closed AWS Agentic AI cycles before you draft.

What stayed the same?

  • Name the open-source tools you plan to contribute to and the AWS machine-learning tools you will use.
  • Use the proposal template. Budget expected costs in USD; the topic pages exclude administrative overhead.
  • Both topic pages point applicants to the program rules; they do not reproduce complete eligibility.

What changed?

  • The recommended proposal length grew from three to four pages, excluding appendices.
  • Spring 2026 explicitly asks what is innovative and how the research differs from or builds on existing work.
  • Spring 2026 adds agentic scientific discovery to the named focus areas. These examples describe two calls from one program, not a market-wide trend.

Draft a research question, a comparison with prior work, one open-source contribution and a resource budget. Ask an eligible principal investigator to check fit and institutional permissions before submitting.

These are institutional awards, not student scholarships. Current program rules require an eligible faculty member or permanent nonprofit researcher to serve as principal investigator. Check the complete exclusions and your institution’s rules.

Topic pages retrieved October 8, 2026. Both link to rules; this comparison does not establish that historical eligibility stayed unchanged. A past cycle cannot predict a future call.

Other recorded cycles

Compare topics across this organization’s calls. This archive alone does not describe the whole research market.

Keep it on your desk

Your free account saves this entry. Saving does not apply to the institution or subscribe you to alerts.

Sign in free to save this opportunity